’90s Crush of the Week: Vin Scelsa

When I was in high school, I was religiously devoted to a weekly radio show called “Idiot’s Delight” with Vin Scelsa, which he used to say was for “high school students and cab drivers.”

One of my favorite shows was when he tried to pick a summer song and played the two contenders over and over again while people called in and debated the merits. The winner was “Sweat” by Inner Circle, so that would have been 1992 or 1993, I guess. I think the other contender was by Soul Asylum? Joey Ramone was on there all the time.

I taped a bunch of stuff from the shows and used it in mix tapes, including readings from narrative non-fiction and Bottom-Line-esque songs I never would have known about otherwise, like Trisha Yearwood’s 1991 “She’s in Love with the Boy.”  Anyway, in my head Vin looked like a young Mickey Rourke, so I’m going to put a photo of him here rather than this photo of what he really looked like. Not that he’s not cute. Just, he’s not what I saw in my head.

1 Comment

Filed under Ada

One response to “’90s Crush of the Week: Vin Scelsa

  1. deb

    I still listen to Vin every week on wfuv.org, Idiot’s Delight on Saturday nights.

Leave a Reply

