Lilith Fair, Menstruation Music, and how Riot Grrrl Inspires Gen Y

Ada, I wanted to post a few of my favorite links to stories and posts about Marisa’s book on the 90s, feminism, and music.

This is partly because Girl Power is about many of the issues we talk about here; partly because Marisa is my friend and co-author and one of the big messages of 90s feminism was that girls should support one another; and partly because I am trying to bury that mortifying fireman post I still can’t believe you talked me into. (But what’s more 90swoman than embracing public humiliation?)

Anyway, here are some of my favorite things Marisa said in some of her interviews that are not necessarily representative, although they may be representative of why I like her.

On the preponderance of female frontwomen with guy bands (ie. No Doubt) in Salon: “It’s like when friends change their names when they get married. I don’t think they are bad people, but there’s this little part of me that just wishes it were a little different.”

On this coming summer’s more commercial answer to Michigan Womyn’s Music Fest at Time Out New York: “I’m going to go and face my late ’90s snobbery at the Lilith Fair. Heart Is playing, and Ke$ha, of ‘Tik-Tok’ fame.”

(NB: This article has an accompanying hot picture taken by our friend Shayla who was so 90swoman in the 90s that she belonged to a situationist food co-op at Antioch College, home of the infamous, amazing sex consent policy.)

On Heavens to Betsy’s “My Red Self”at the NYT Paper Cuts blog: “I am not afraid to admit that one of my favorite songs is about menstruation.”

On her book’s impact on Gen Y at  Slate: “Tavi Gevinson, the teenage blogger who has become a fashion-world celebrity, wrote that the day after finishing Girl Power, she proposed a feminist club to her school principal.”

The Slate piece is actually a discussion with Sara Marcus, who we met a few years ago, when she presented an amazing paper on her adult embarrassment over her adolescent love for Ani DiFranco at EMP, and has a book coming out about riot grrrl. Sara is less impressed with today’s female pop stars than Marisa. She says:

“What kind of mega pop-stars do I want to see more of? I want a fat pop star. I want a pop star who doesn’t care about becoming rich (I know: Yeah, right). I want a butch-dyke pop star with hairy pits (and a femme-dyke pop star, too, for that matter, one who doesn’t have to spectacularly self-destruct). I want a sissy-boy pop star in a dress (ditto on the not self-destructing). I want a transgender pop star, and I want a new-tomboy pop star, one who doesn’t sing, ‘I don’t like your girlfriend,’ like Avril Lavigne, and who maybe even (OMG!) doesn’t wear eyeliner. Above all, I want female pop stars who get attention more for their talent and originality as musicians than for their skill as crafters of personae. When that happens, adolescent girls—and boys, and all of us—will be way better off.”

Is that possible? Is that what we want?

Meanwhile: Marisa’s tumblr has some more links.

1 Comment

Filed under Kara

One response to “Lilith Fair, Menstruation Music, and how Riot Grrrl Inspires Gen Y

  1. Love it! Though I missed riot grrrl since I was too young, their music inspires me, even now. I just wrote a song last week called “Fat Grrrls” which basically is riot grrrl anthem about wanting to see women who have different bodies in the media. If you can, please check it out!

    http://www.myspace.com/electrikemilyrocks

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

