my photo gallery of awesome 90s stomachs

Omg, Ada, I love this topic. I know everyone thinks it is annoying and privileged and white to think about body image–which it partly is–but a lot of political energy can get siphoned off obsessing about the contours of ones stomach! Anyway, in the 90s, stomachs were hot (though I didn’t actually know that then and wrote some poetry bemoaning my own back in the day. Also: deep thoughts about stretch marks.). Since as a grad student I can no longer afford pilates, maybe we can spearhead a revival of what I think is a very hot–not to mention low-maintenance!–look?

courtney love's hot pre-surgical non-abs

christina, i loved you before all the dieting and vogue profiles

drew looks cute

this is really about kathleen's thighs, but whatevs

not a huge claire danes fan, but this is cute

me, living out a 90s fantasy in 2010 for marisas book party invitation

3 Comments

Filed under Kara

3 responses to “my photo gallery of awesome 90s stomachs

  1. zan

    This post is like a fishing line dragging back the memory of the night I Sharpied the address of some guy I knew from IRC #skate on my stomach in someone’s NYU dorm room.

    I would so welcome your revival. Maybe going forward we can write all of our blog posts on our awesome natural bellies? Mine currently has plenty of room for thoughts.

  2. Pingback: Body Image & The Challenge « Tattooed + Pierced

  3. Pingback: Boys vs. Girls on 90s Nostalgia « 90sWoman.com

Leave a Reply

