I Saw Courtney Love and It Was Amazing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1RzKaGZXnpoAda. It was so good. So good! Last night, I went to see her with Marisa, Doree, Emily, and Elizabeth. She sang “Violet” and “Miss World” and “Doll Parts” and “Celebrity Skin” and “Malibu.” She also sang some songs from her new album, “Nobody’s Daughter,” which I am pretty into. Doree and Marisa recapped the night for The Awl and I’m not sure I have that much more to add at this particular (personally exhausted from staying up writing papers) juncture. Just that I have seen Alanis Morisette, Liz Phair, Julianna Hatfield, and the Spice Girls (!!) among other 90swomen in concert, and I think seeing Courtney was actually the most satisfying. Her screaming sounded great. (As Marisa said, hard living really works for her particular singing style.) Her lacy black dress and flowy white dress and pageboy and red lipstick all looked amazing. She’s got some custody issues going on that I refuse to know about, not to mention some Twitter feuds, etc., but I still find her the 90sest of 90swomen in the best possible way. By which I mean: She’s bitchy and funny and feminist and femmey and doesn’t take herself too seriously. And her life is seriously not boring.

Leave a comment

Filed under Kara

Leave a Reply

