Miley Cyrus’s “New Look,” AKA “Britney Spears”

So the much hyped New Miley is here (or sort of – Comcast keeps taking the video off YouTube, but  you can watch it on E!’s website). Spoiler alert: she looks and sounds a leeetle like another sexpot circa “Womanizer.”

As you know, Kara, I like Miley a lot. I think “Party in the USA” is a great song, even if in interviews she has undercut it by saying she has actually never listened to a Jay-Z song. I even like her queer-theory-rich  movie and her bonkers Disney show. And I think she’s been a great, fun-loving role model for tweens. All that talk about her “pole-dancing” made me crazy, because all she did was hold onto a pole so she wouldn’t fall off that ice cream truck.

ANYWAY. I even kind of like her now in crazy-serious, self-involved, “we are deeper than most people,” first-serious-grown-up-boyfriend-dourness mode (see smug joint interview). Who among us did not spend at least part of our late-teens, early twenties feeling superior to “most people”?

BUT. I find her bird hands in this video pretty silly.  See if you agree.

1 Comment

Filed under Ada

One response to “Miley Cyrus’s “New Look,” AKA “Britney Spears”

  1. Haha. I try hard not to fall into the trap of acting like a self-satisfied superior know-it-all just because I’m in my early 20s. But I’m always willing to admit when I like something supposedly too “mainstream” to be respectable. If I’m not supposed to like it, maybe I’m the one being subversive anyway. Besides, how is Miley Cyrus any different from the pop stars we grew up with? So yeah, go ahead and be open about liking her if what she does makes you happy.

Leave a Reply

