Generation X and The New Traditionalism

NY Times/Nina Fineberg

Ha, I don’t think I’m having a mid-life crisis, unless Googling ex-boyfriends during lulls at work suggests otherwise.

I was going to post that same article, because it made me think a lot of things: 1. A.O. Scott is my age?!  (Turns out he was born in 1966, so he’s a decade older than us, but still qualifies as Gen-X.) 2. Weird how I feel like Greenberg and Hot Tub Time Machine and all that have nothing to do with my teen nostalgia, even if I may be up for seeing them. (Did men and women really have different experiences of the ’90s? Maybe co-ed teen life is really a 21st century thing.) 3. The Vows section of that same Sunday’s paper was really the most Gen-Xiest thing ever, way more instructive about the demographic than the article explicitly about it. Scared of marriage because of parental divorce? Check. Outwardly hipsterrific but secretly ultra-traditional? Yup. The clincher: “My dream is for us to work together, to share an office. That way I never have to miss her.” At what point in time would that ever be a normal thing for a guy to say of the lady he’d just wed in St. Patrick’s Cathedral?

P.S. Tony Scott, Generation X wasn’t that bad a band!

1 Comment

Filed under Ada

One response to “Generation X and The New Traditionalism

  1. jen

    I do think younger Xers are getting lumped into the start of older Xers midlife crisis. I hope they don’t start feeling older than they are. There is still an awful long way to midlife when you’re in your early 30s. Hopefully younger Xers will find their voice, soon. It seems like the most disenfranchised-feeling among Gen X are those that bookend the generation. And, ironically, to me, they seem to have the greatest degree of the Gen X persona. Great post. I do enjoy your blog.

Leave a Reply

