We Need to Talk About TV

Buzzfeed had a reader contest for the most ’90s image. The one of Kathleen in the telephone onesie that Brendan posted is the clear winner, right? But I was struck by how much TV stuff got put on there. Like this one (remember high-rise jeans?!). And I realized we still haven’t talked about TV. Maybe we should, cause Friends and Seinfeld in particular were SO ’90s.

Am I crazy or does Friends in particular totally reflect the evil “hook-up culture”? I mean, all these guys and girls are friends and sometimes they sleep together and there’s some drama and then they go back to being friends again. The ladies are ambitious in their careers and have strong friendships and theoretically want marriage and kids eventually but that’s not their main drive. I mean, they’re pretty bougie and not exactly radical, but maybe there’s something to how that show normalized co-ed city life?

3 Comments

Filed under Ada

3 responses to “We Need to Talk About TV

  1. AC

    (this is all very “long time reader, first time commenter, but…)
    On the subject of tv!

    I’m biased because I’m only 20 now, but Lisa Simpson was my favourite 90s feminist icon, although I didn’t really understand feminism until I was about fourteen. Is Lisa Simpson a 90swoman? I mean, what about this:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lisa_vs._Malibu_Stacy ?

  2. Oh god, I recently decided it would be fun to watch old episodes of 90210 online, and the clothes!!! No wonder I looked so terrible all the time! Those mom jeans were not flattering to my person at all. And shirts TUCKED INTO them? Bad idea, bad, bad idea. At least the hair was usually decent.

  3. You know what’s funny? We didn’t even call them ‘high-rise’ jeans. They were just the jeans we all wore.

Leave a Reply

