’90s Crush of the Week: Joel Hodgson

The kids I babysat for in the ’90s used to tease me about my crush on MST3K‘s Joel Hodgson. We watched the show a lot together and they’d say, “You’re going to maaaaaary him.” While I did date many¬†witty potheads in tribute, I did not marry or ever meet Joel himself. He seemed super fun, though. I just learned he also did pretty sophisticated¬†stand-up pseudo-prop-comedy in the ’80s before creating the cult hit, which ran from 1988 to 1999. (Here he is in 2008, disappointingly sans-jumpsuit.) Anyway, MST3K is one of those things from the ’90s that I think was meant for dudes but that actually women got a lot out of. Like jumpsuits.

2 Comments

Filed under Ada

2 responses to “’90s Crush of the Week: Joel Hodgson

  1. A

    Check him out in Freaks and Geeks as well.

    When Joel left MST3K and Mike came along, I lost interest in the show. Now that so many episodes are on Netflix Instant, I realize Mike’s not so bad.

  2. Ivy

    I wouldn’t say it seemed like it was made for guys, I think it was just made by guys for goofy people who like weirdo movies, pop culture and sci-fi. This show was such a huge influence on my life. I am not sure I would be the person I am today without it.

Leave a Reply

