Testimony: Lyndsey H.

Lyndsey Harrington

Kara, we just got this super nice email about 90s womanhood from a hot chick born in 1990, making her almost young enough to be our daughter (gah!). She says:

As a member of ‘Generation Y’ (aka Generation Y Bother/ Y Care/ Y Don’t You Understand That I’m Entitled), and as someone who wasn’t born until the year 1990, I’ll admit that upon first encountering your 90swoman blog, I brushed over it, not making an effort to build a connection between myself (the 90s girl, technically) and a woman who, as the ’90swoman’ title suggests, is from a generation that I was too young to understand, who fought very different battles to me, against enemies who were probably dead already.  I mean, how could I have related to a woman whose girl power ideologies had long been expired on the shelf of modern civilization?  After all, I wasn’t even a feminist.

And as a non-feminist, I found myself, soon after, wondering why I was angry with my body for not being a size 2.

As a non-feminist, I found myself frustrated that menstruation is still taboo.

As a non-feminist, I found myself shaving my legs and armpits, a ritual I’ve been devoted to since puberty, and realized that I’d never once questioned the practice.

And finally, as a non-feminist, I returned to your blog.  And then officially converted.

Thank you both so much for doing what you’re doing.  I’ve come to realize, and learn, that there are so many issues we feminists still need to focus on and help others understand.  My generation, often seemingly sedate, appears to have dropped the ball on feminism, but I have a sneaking suspicion many of them are feminists without realizing it, as I was.

And she sent over a life-size couture gown she adorned with tampons and pads that she dyed red.  It’s called “Period Piece”. The next generation of feminists is doing just fine.

"Period Piece" by Lyndsey Harrington

4 Comments

Filed under Ada, Guest

4 responses to “Testimony: Lyndsey H.

  1. Thanks for this.

    I too was born in 1990, and as I grew up I started looking slightly backwards for music I could relate to but I soon realised I shared the mentality of a 90s woman.

    I hope that young women begin to see that being a feminist and being fun and sexy are not mutually exclusive, and the image of the proud, inspirational woman becomes not only an image of a 90s woman, but one of a 2010s one too!

  2. Anna

    Wow! So well put, I really enjoyed reading what You had to say.
    I’m a gen-Xer so it made me glad to see that the next generation hasn’t been lost to the changes in media.
    While I was a tween/teen feminist icons like Tori Amos, Ani Difranco, and Sinead O’Connor (even Lauryn Hill and Eryka Badu whether or not they’d describe themselves to be feminists…) were around in media played on MTV, and made up ‘pop’ (popular) music, but I had boughten all the negative slander and therefore stayed away, and just listened to the guys stuff. Until I was into my 20’s and desperately needed to seek out female role models that had something to say, to help me get throw my own personal struggles related to sexism and how deeply sexism was affecting me.

    That was how I discovered feminism. By way of music. I now rely on blogs on the net, feminist bookstores, magazines like bitch and ms, to keep my current. I also like to collect other female role models for inspiration – in politics, art, humanities, otherwise I’ll get lost in a sexist patriarchal society. Yikes! Been there done that and it SUCKS! Noooooo thank-you.

    I just thought I’d respond, because things should be getting better instead of worse. Generation by generation. I do have my concerns, so glad to here someone’s positive feedback. : )

  3. Anna

    … forgot to mention Alanis Morissette and PJ Harvey.

  4. Dawn.

    I so relate to this because I was born in 1987. I narrowly missed the majority of what was really going on in the ’90s. I was influenced by it, but I was a kid. It didn’t have the same effect on me as it would have if I would’ve been 14-18 years old instead of 6-10.

    I do remember being 7 years old and watching Nirvana’s MTV Unplugged show and sobbing because Kurt Cobain had just introduced me to the act/concept of suicide. I remember singing along with “All Apologies” and having no idea what it meant but being devastated by it. I remember thinking things like, “Why is the world so sad that some people do that?” That is what most ’90s memories are like for me. Not intellectually “getting it,” but viscerally feeling it. Knowing that something is beautiful, or sad, or fucked up and not understanding why. Watching teenagers and adults do things and make things that affected me and trying to understand why.

    Sorry for the long comment! This just really struck me.

    P.S. Thanks early ’90s Madonna, for making me viscerally feel my queerness. I didn’t know exactly what was going on, I just knew Madonna was really pretty and I found myself kissing the TV set and dressing like her and sobbing because my mom wouldn’t let me get her Sex book for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

