Four More ’90s Albums I Used to Listen To Instead of Ani DiFranco

We’ve talked some, Kara, about boy vs. girl music in the ’90s. Your Lilith Fair experience got me thinking about how I was mostly oblivious of that whole world, and so don’t have the same womyn-music nostalgia. My zines were feminist, but until I was in my twenties, my cassette mix tapes were all sad boy songs, all the time. I got all nostalgic a while back over Pavement and the Gin Blossoms, and here are some more!

Eric’s Trip, Love Tara (1993)

Mercury Rev, Yerself is Steam (1991)

Alice Donut, Pure Acid Park (1995)

American Music Club, Mercury (1993)

Afghan Whigs, Gentleman (1993)

2 Comments

Filed under Ada

2 responses to “Four More ’90s Albums I Used to Listen To Instead of Ani DiFranco

  1. I’ll turn in my third-wave feminist card right now and say that I listened to a lot of boy-rock in the 90s: Guided by Voices, Uncle Tupelo (and later Wilco and Son Volt — their from my town, so it was unavoidable), and late-Replacements/solo Paul Westerberg.

  2. That Afghan Whigs album was HUGE for me. I moved to NYC to attend college in 1993, and the combination of Kim’s Underground, the Village Voice concert listings and Brownie’s were a dream come true.

Leave a Reply

