Feminist Narratives and Mainstream Media

Yesterday at the Post I worked on this story about Charlie Sheen’s date (who was left cowering naked in the bathroom as he tore apart the hotel room). The angle actually wound up being pretty nuanced and sympathetic. I especially like this quote from her Twitter page:

In a Fourth of July response to someone who criticized her, she lashed out online: “I’ve been to the Middle East and to England, Ireland, Spain, the DR and many other places — My parents came to this country with nothing, and today I reserve the right to a career that allows me enough wages to take care of myself and not rely on my 74-year-old father who works three jobs to support our family. You’re IGNORANT.”

It’s not Ms., but, you know, baby steps.

Here’s the article.

1 Comment

Filed under Ada

One response to “Feminist Narratives and Mainstream Media

  1. Pingback: astropuppees.com » Feminist Narratives and Mainstream Media

Leave a Reply

